Living an intentional life x Project 333

Hi all!

For the past few months, I have come across numerous blog posts, videos and podcasts featuring what seems to be, this really popular trend that is attracting much attention- minimalism. From what I have seen, there is no set rules or ways to do this but what I really like about it is the message that encapsulates the minimalist lifestyle, to live a life which is intentional. To remove all things in our life that doesn’t serve a purpose or that does not give us pleasure. To be mindful of our future purchases and to be aware of what we surround ourselves, both items and people. For some time now I have noticed I have fallen into this routine, or the lack of one,  that doesn’t really benefit my life tremendously.  My spare time mostly spent on social media, my bedroom cluttered and my work-social balance is completely unhealthy. Which is why I decided to give this concept a go. I know change don’t happen overnight so I want to address one thing at a time.

 

So then I decided to give Project 333 a go. Project 333 is a challenge which requires one to only use/wear 33 items throughout a 3 month period. For obvious hygienic reasons, you do not count your work out clothes and underwear in the 33 items.  I found it extremely difficult to pick out only 33 items from my wardrobe. To give you an idea, here’s what my wardrobe looked like before:

fullsizerender

 

I found that my wardrobe consisted of item that do not compliment each other and I also accumulated a surplus of ‘trendy’ pieces which do not get a lot of wear from. Most of the items I have only worn a few times!  I live in the UK so  and we are currently in the winter season. I chose to distribute my 33 item allowance as follows:

4 Outerwear

img_5528

 

11 Tops

 

fullsizerender-7fullsizerender-3fullsizerender-2

 

6 Bottoms (3 jeans, 1 leggings, 1 skirt and 1 shorts)

fullsizerender-4

5 Footwear

img_5531

 

6 Accessories (2 scarves, 2 bags, 1 hat, 1 watch and 1 choker)

fullsizerender-5

 

 

Initial thoughts: I do think this would be a challenge for me as to begin with, the clothes I already own are not versatile and the bottom point is, my closet is filled with things I do not like.  This has already given me inspiration to be mindful of items I purchase in the future; so far, so good. I thought I would hate seeing my wardrobe so bare but surprisingly,  I enjoy seeing it organised.

 

fullsizerender-6

 

 

I am aiming to update this blog on a weekly basis to share my progress. Feel free to join me!

PS: To anyone who has  done Project 333 or still doing it, any tips and advice will be much appreciated.  Wish me luck!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Living an intentional life x Project 333

Leave a comment